Understanding Colorado Insurance Laws
In Colorado, every driver is required by law to carry at least $25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage. This means that when you are injured by another driver, you may be entitled to at least $25,000 from the other driver’s insurance company.
Not everyone behind the wheel has actually complied with this law, which could leave you in the lurch. However, Colorado law also requires that insurance companies selling automobile insurance in Colorado must sell Uninsured and Under-insured Motorist coverage as part of every policy unless it is specifically refused in writing.
As a Colorado driver, you likely have Uninsured/Under-insured Motorist coverage in your policy to pay for your injuries if you are involved in an accident with someone who does not have the proper amount of insurance.
Understanding Your Insurance Policy
Beginning in 2008, Colorado law changed in two significant ways. First, insurance companies cannot “offset” money paid by the under-insured motorist’s insurance against the value of your policy. You are entitled to the entire value of both policies.
Second, insurance companies cannot include “anti-stacking” language in your policy. If you are paying for uninsured/underinsured policies on more than one vehicle, you may be able to receive the full benefit of all of the policies to pay for your injuries.
“You took time to explain the law as it applied to my situation in plain English.”
Insurance laws can be complex and confusing. When you have been injured in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, please call Shafner Law today at (303) 796-0555 for your free case consultation.
Our experienced attorneys can help you understand your rights and receive the compensation that you are entitled to from the insurance companies.
We represent clients in Denver, the surrounding areas, and throughout the state of Colorado.