Yes. Every personal injury case is subject to a time limit. If you fail to file your case before the time limit expires, then you may be barred from bringing your case.
In Colorado, the legislature has enacted statutes of limitations for several types of personal injury cases.
- 3 years for auto accident cases
- 2 years for other injury cases involving negligence, such as slip and fall
- 2 years for strict liability cases, such as dog bite
- 2 years for wrongful death cases
In general the date of the incident is when the clock starts ticking. You will want to contact an experienced Denver personal injury attorney well before the deadline to file your case. The closer in time to the incident that caused your injuries, the more evidence you will be able to preserve, such as witness statements and photos of the accident scene.
The experienced personal injury lawyers at Shafner Law are committed to helping accident victims seek the justice they deserve from the parties responsible for their injuries.
If you or your loved one has been the victim of an accident and suffered serious injuries, call us today at (303) 796-0555 for your free consultation. We represent clients throughout Denver and the entire state of Colorado.